Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Syn 3 in Primary Chain Case  (Read 5629 times)

kmn2psi

Syn 3 in Primary Chain Case
« on: December 09, 2011, 07:38:02 PM »

As most of you know synthetic oil is used in exclusively in the CVO.  I would like to change to non synthetic in the primary...simply for the reason the clutch does not feel so slippery...any advice?

GregKhougaz

• It's a Two Wheeled World.
  • Global Moderator
  • 5k CVO Member
    • CA

• CVO1: '22 BMW Grand America
    • CVO2: '18 Porsche C4 GTS
    • CVO3: '22 Porsche Macan GTS and my mountain bike.
Re: Syn 3 in Primary Chain Case
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2011, 02:09:46 AM »

I suspect the dealer and or HD will claim it would void your warranty.  I am no expert on this.  It may be that your clutch hydraulics need to be bled.  I don't know of anyone else who thinks they're clutch is too slippery.  It seems to be more of an adjustment issue. 

"We've got some tall tales we love to tell.  They may not be true but we sure do remember them well." 
 Sawyer Brown

When you come to a fork in the road... take it!

grc

• 10K CVO Member
  • AKA Grouchy Old Fart
    • IN

• CVO1: 2005 SEEG2
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2011, 10:23:20 AM »

Try not to fall for that "too slippery" wives tale about synthetic lubricants.  And changing to a nonsynthetic won't affect your warranty; they (H-D) use non-syn in all the other bikes except the CVO's, and the primary components are the same.

There are many choices that others on the site use, from Formula + to Redline Primary Fluid to ATF.  The main thing is to choose a fluid that is formulated to be used with a wet clutch.

If your clutch is slipping, it's not because of the SYN3.  What is it actually doing?

Jerry
Jerry - 2005 Cherry SEEG  -  Member # 1155

H-D and me  -  a classic love / hate relationship.  Current score:  love 40, hate 50, bewildered 10.

mrmagloo

• 1K CVO Member