Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: 2011 110 cam/lifters/heads what's right for the 54  (Read 3138 times)

JPK455

2011 110 cam/lifters/heads what's right for the 54
« on: May 29, 2012, 12:40:23 PM »

To start off I am no mechanic I have a 2011 Cvo street glide I changed head pipe and baffles to fulsack set up 2" baffles put that in myself  put new map in runs great but still not real happy were the power is i hardley ride 2 up and never pull a trailer I did buy the 54h cams and 030 gasket and Here is we're my problem starts I am not comfortable putting cams in myself bike has 10000 miles

So here are my questions

1. Would you pull heads and just swap gasket and put cam in?
2. Just cut push rods and use adjustable and not swap gasket and put cam in?
3. Would you replace lifters when doing cam swap?
4. Replace valve springs when heads are off and mill heads to 0 deck Change lifters when putting cams in?
5. Leave it alone and spend money on a good tune and just ride the f#%%}^{%}%#% thing

Mech I am taking it to says not worth pulling heads to put .030 gasket in, if pulling heads he would 0 deck them to get proper squish. Says there could be issue if carbon build up and just swaping gasket could be an issue.

I just want to do this once and want a realiable bike that will need to run on bad gas every once in a while. I am not wanting different cam options I am going to use the 54

Your suggestions will be very much appreciated

Thanks in advance JPK

Ghost__Rider

• Elite CVO Member
Re: 2011 110 cam/lifters/heads what's right for the 54
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2012, 12:51:51 PM »