Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Platinum air suspension  (Read 4669 times)

jmorton10

• Full CVO Member
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Platinum air suspension
« on: May 06, 2007, 04:00:18 PM »

I posted this recently on HTT, but then it occured to me that guys here might find it interesting also:

I recently installed an air ride system on my 04 RK Custom because I wanted the adjustable height feature. I am 5'6" with a short inseam,
& being able to lower the big bagger down real low in situations like backing out of a parking spot etc. can be really useful.

I have been running 12" standard spring Progressive 440's for a few years & the ride was super(1000 times better than the awful 12" Harley lowered air shocks), but I decided to give the air a test for the adjustable height feature.  I originally bought the "draggin bagger" setup because it was cheap($399 at the time)& although the air height feature worked fine & was fun to play with, the ride was too rough for me.  I returned that setup for a refund.

I was all set to buy the Legend air system until I rode a friends bagger with that system & it was a very rough ride IMHO. I played with his system at all different air settings & could never really find a "sweet spot" where I was happy with the ride.

I then read everything I could find on air suspension systems & decided to give the Platinum "Bleed & Feed" system a try. The Platinum system is a couple hundred dollars cheaper than the Legend, but the main thing I kept reading about was the outstanding ride quality. I realized right up front that even the best air systems cannot quite equal the ride quality of a top quality standard shock(Progressive, Works etc etc). At least that's what I thought at the time.