Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Back surgery  (Read 1370 times)

Farm boy

Back surgery
« on: April 06, 2019, 11:03:19 AM »

Found out the other day I am going to need back surgery.  I don't know the technical jargon, but they are going to repair/ replace the one that's above the pelvis if I remember correctly. Going in through my stomach,  then flipping me over and screwing two together in my back.
Really concerned about it. Have always heard that back surgery is 50/50 at best.
I am a road mechanic,  so not sure how the job will go.
I would appreciate anybody that has had this type of surgery giving input.
Asked the surgeon if I would still be a to do my job, as well as still ride. He got pretty vague at that point.

scottt

• Elite CVO Member
Re: Back surgery
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2019, 12:52:21 PM »

So sorry to hear about it. Knew someone well that was told his odds were 50/50 with the procedure. He ended up in a wheelchair for life.

Back surgery would be a last option for me. Wishing you all the best. Get a second opinion.

Sent from my SM-J327T using Tapatalk

JCZ

• Global Moderator
  • 10K CVO Member
    • AZ

• CVO1: 04 SEEG...sold
    • CVO2: 10 SESG...sold
    • CVO3: 13 FLHTCSE 8
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2019, 02:02:06 PM »

I put my back surgery off for a couple of years.....due to fear.  But I wasn't telling anybody that....kept the fear part to myself.  Eventually the pain got so bad that I couldn't put it off any longer.

As soon as I came to even though I could feel the pain where they'd cut in to me, I knew immediatly that the pain that I'd been feeling for a couple of years was gone.  My immediate fear was that it would come back.....either as soon as the meds wore off or eventually, on it's own time.