Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 [All]

Author Topic: Tires & Mileage  (Read 3129 times)

crasha51pan

• www.CVOHARLEY.com
    • MT

• Nam Vets MC
Tires & Mileage
« on: November 07, 2019, 11:15:31 AM »

PSA......
Ran across this site, and a thread on Tires & Mileage ... Dunlop American Elite for one.
Saw all kinds of claims on rear tire mileage. I am in the market for a new set myself, for reasons I will lay out below....
Bought a new 2019 Road King FLHR October 2018. It ran the Dunlop 407's. I have been riding for 50 years and have never gotten such "poor" rear tire mileage, likewise I have never gotten the kind of mileage some claim (20,000 / 30,000). My best on the rear has been 9,500 with a Dunlop E-3 (that they said would not fir my 2006 Road King).
Here is why I'm looking for a new set of tires now. 6,631 miles ?

iski

• 10K CVO Member
  • EBCM 007
    • FL

• CVO1: 2007 FLHTCUSE2 Screamin' Eagle Ultra - Light Candy Cherry and Black Ice - Traded
    • CVO2: 2010 FLHTCUSE5 Screamin' Eagle Ultra - Crimson Mist Black/Dark Slate - Traded
    • CVO3: 2017 FLHTKSE CVO Limited - Black Garnet & Electric Red Pearl w/Carbon Dust
Re: Tires & Mileage
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2019, 11:57:02 AM »

Burnouts?   :nixweiss:

Tire mileage is subjective and variable.  Maintain proper inflation, ride on roads that aren't tire eaters (twisties, road surface, etc.), 1 up vs 2 up, and riding styles all impact tire mileage.  One rider might get 25k, another might get 5k.

Proper inflation is most important to get the max out of tire life, no matter conditions or riding styles.
"I had the right to remain silent, but I didn't have the ability." ~ RW

Twolanerider

• 25K CVO Member
  • EBCM #1.5 Emeritus DSP # ? Critter Gawker #?
    • MO

• CVO1: 2000 Triple Red Screamin' Eagle Road Glide
    • CVO2: 2002 Candy Brandywine Screamin' Eagle Road King
    • CVO3: 1999 Arresting Red FXR2