• 5k CVO Member
  • 2012 FLHTCUS7

• CVO1: 2005 CVO
    • CVO2: 2009 CVO SEUC
    • CVO3: 2017 CVO LIMITED
    • Re/Max
Oil
« on: March 25, 2018, 08:17:09 AM »

I was at Daytona and stopped in at the Amsoil booth. He told me you can go 10,000 miles between oil changes. Opinions? Whats better RedLine or Amsoil. I have been using Redline for several years.
Bill

grc

• 10K CVO Member
  • AKA Grouchy Old Fart
    • IN

• CVO1: 2005 SEEG2
Re: Oil
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2018, 09:50:13 AM »

I was at Daytona and stopped in at the Amsoil booth. He told me you can go 10,000 miles between oil changes. Opinions? Whats better RedLine or Amsoil. I have been using Redline for several years.

Determination of the best oil change intervals is something that depends on many factors, not just the type of oil involved.  If you do a lot of short rides around town, you will need to change oil more often than someone who just cruises the interstates for instance.  If you ride fully loaded and hauling a trailer, you would need to change oil more often than someone who just rides one up with no additional load.  And it goes on and on.  Modern cars and trucks use algorithms in the ECM to determine when you should change your oil, using all kinds of data such as length of trips, temperatures, engine load, etc. to fine tune the change intervals for you.  Unless they changed something very recently, Harley doesn't have such a system, thus the one size fits all 5000 mile change interval.

On a Harley that's covered by the factory warranty, you will probably want to stick with the Harley 5000 mile requirement until the warranty expires.  If you want to fine tune the interval later on, I'd suggest having the oil tested at different intervals to come up with a scientifically valid interval based on your bike and your riding conditions, versus just winging it.  If you just run the interstates lightly loaded, you might find that even 10,000 miles is too soon. 

JMHO - Jerry