Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Traffic Alerts  (Read 1298 times)

ultrafxr

• There are no sure answers, only better questions. - Dick Van Dyke
  • 5k CVO Member
  • No problem is so small it cannot be misunderstood.
    • TN

• CVO1: 2020 FLHTCUTG Tahitian Teal
    • CVO2: 2017 FLHTKSE Palladium Silver/Phantom Blue/Wicked Sapphire-traded
    • CVO3: 2012 FLHTCUSE7 Electric Orange/Black Diamond-traded
Traffic Alerts
« on: May 08, 2017, 06:03:47 PM »

I am still learning all the myriad intricacies on the Boom Box on my 2017 CVO Limited.  I don't use its GPS often since I installed a Garmin RT Zumo 590 but I was running a route on the internal GPS yesterday and I got an alert that a bridge was out.  It did not specify where that was or how far it was.  As I recall the response options were to detour or ignore.  I told it to ignore but it alerted a couple more times and sure enough after several miles the road was indeed closed due to a bridge being under repair.

So my question is:  what caused these alerts?  I definitely do not have a subscription to Sirius XM traffic and according to H-D customer no service that is required in order to get traffic alerts.  They could not explain to any level of satisfaction what was going on with these alerts.

Now I know traffic alerts are possible over FM vs Sirius XM as I have that on the Garmin Nuvi in my cage.  Just wondering if the Boom Box has this capability.  If so I cannot locate anything about it and I'm mystified by the alerts I received.

Places ridden on my bike from my driveway.
IBA member # 45520

RoadTrip

• Senior CVO Member
    • TX

• CVO1: 2015 CVO Road Glide Ultra
    • Twisted Rides
Re: Traffic Alerts
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2017, 06:14:24 PM »

I'm not the expert on the GPS, but here is what I know...mostly from reading the User Manual supplemented by some research on the web...