Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Balancing Beads  (Read 1999 times)

D-N-D

• 5k CVO Member
  • FLHRSEI.ORG
    • PA

• CVO1: 2020 FLHTKSE Limited / Moonlight Blue & Deep Sea Blue
Balancing Beads
« on: January 14, 2023, 05:55:07 PM »

So I just pick up some Chrome Rims (with out tires rims only) and they came with balancing beads.    ( Recommend to use by the company I purchased the rims from but not a must use ) So I have never used them before what is the PROS and CONS of the beads vs the stick on weights ???.
Stop by my local HD dealer and ask them for pricing to mount and balance the new tires and rims, ask if they would do it with the beads service manager said we don't do beads to many problems with them we had customer come back and say the wheels are out of balance ?? are they right or wrong ?? Has anyone used them ? let me know the good or bad side with them. I want to use them I like the concept and no weights showing on the rims nice clean look.
DND

tazmun

• 1K CVO Member

• CVO1: 06 FLHTCUSE (sold)
    • CVO2: 19 FLHXS All Black
Re: Balancing Beads
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2023, 07:06:56 PM »

I don't know if you ever heard of Centramatic wheel balancers,  but I have them on my 04 Gold Wing.
They have doubled my tire life,  I now have over 70k miles 4 sets of tires, this after 2 sets in 14k miles.
I was going to put them on my 06 CVO Ultra, but at the time they didn't make the CVO Harley version.
The tires were always in balance.  They also make them for a multitude of other types of vehicles.
The "TAZMUN"

Twolanerider

• 25K CVO Member
  • EBCM #1.5 Emeritus DSP # ? Critter Gawker #?
    • MO

• CVO1: 2000 Triple Red Screamin' Eagle Road Glide
    • CVO2: 2002 Candy Brandywine Screamin' Eagle Road King
    • CVO3: 1999 Arresting Red FXR2
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2023, 08:05:39 PM »