Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 3 [All]

Author Topic: Barber Motorsports Museum  (Read 3446 times)

REGGAB

Barber Motorsports Museum
« on: June 01, 2007, 12:05:44 AM »

On 19 MAY 2007, Renea and I were able to have Grandparents look after Stef, so we could have a day to ourselves.  We decided to go to the Barber Motorsports Museum.  What a great place.  Almost as good as Wheels Through Time.  Thought I'd share a few pictures of that visit.  Here is a picture of Renea next to my favorite Pan.

REGGAB

Re: Barber Motorsports Museum
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2007, 12:07:52 AM »

Here is an old JD set up as a biscuit delivery vehicle.  This display is right behind a replica of the original Harley-Davidson factory.

REGGAB

« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2007, 12:10:48 AM »

This is a 1981 FLH Heritage Edition........the very year I graduated from high school.  Note the post seat.  The color combination was orange and olive drab AKA "peas & carrots."

REGGAB

« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2007, 12:12:48 AM »

I really like Toppers.  Wish I could find one in any condition.

REGGAB

« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2007, 12:17:10 AM »

I'd love to read the Operational Requirements Document for this fine acquisition.  The data plate on it has a mix of MIL STD listed items, yet it doesn't refer to an approved Army technical manual.  Rather it refers to an OEM technical manual, which shows how young the acquisition was at the time.  Most likely a Low Rate Initial Production article.

REGGAB

« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2007, 12:20:36 AM »

Last one.  The literature with this display says that since the military services have mandated the use of diesel as a common fuel, this vehicle is no longer used.  Well, the Army uses JP8 in it's wheeled vehicles, and I wouldn't be surprised if this machine is still in use despite its MOGAS requirement.

Gettinold

• 5k CVO Member
  • SOMEWHERE NORTH OF HEAVEN WHERE EAGLES DONT FLY