Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Will a 103 with Cams and pistons, take a stock 110 with V&H headers???  (Read 3021 times)

Cowboy2

• Senior CVO Member

This is a real question in practical terms, and here is why so you know I am dead serious:

In addition to my new 2011 CVO Street Glide in old school Harley colours of orange and black, I also have a Ultra (Dresser in your old school language, Ha!)  Anyway, before the CVO became available (special order only in Oz) an Act of God to get it... :bananarock:  Before that, I studied the concept of a 120R motor dropped into my Ultra.  There was a hitch though.  I sponsor all the Riding for the Disabled on the Sunshine Coast in Australia, and the horses will stop and look at the BIG noise as long as it is slow speed.  I have to ride past the special needs children and horses, about 500 Metres, at 10 mph.  Three people told me the 120R would not be happy, too surgy, on a rocky gravel road down that low in 1st gear.... :coolblue: Also, I thought the hydraulic clutch might be needed with bigger springs to suit the 120R... I did my homework... :2vrolijk_21:

My idea was to buy the crate motor to drop in my Dresser, and save the very happy 103 motor as a spare on the floor.  That idea now gone, the next idea to hop up my Dresser is to do cams and pistons in the 103.  How would that compare to the 110 SE in my CVO?  I ride with some clubs that pull out in formation to pass at high speed in a group, and the stock 103 Dresser is a bit slow.   The CVO was an opportunity that came my way and since I was thinking of taking off the top box and queen seat from my Dresser and putting them on as an option with a docking station, the CVO Street Glide was made to order and I had to give it a try...