Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2]  All

Author Topic: SKS - the poor mans assult rifle?  (Read 5197 times)

cvobiker

• 2.5K CVO Member
Re: SKS - the poor mans assult rifle?
« Reply #15 on: September 01, 2012, 10:02:17 AM »

I'm not a SKS expert by any means...........there are also Red China SKS's.  It has milled/machined parts in the receiver, some of the other brands/other nations mfgr have stamped steel parts instead of machined.  The milled/machined parts seem to be more durable over the long haul vs. stamped parts.  I've put a lot of rounds thru them, they are very reliable.

I've  never seen a reference to a "Red China" Variant SKS. The China Variants i find are Chinese Type 63, 68, 73, 81, 84.   However, the Norinco variant SKS is currently made by Norinco, a branch of the Red Chinese Government,,, I think you actually meant to refer to the Norinco version  :nixweiss:
« Last Edit: September 01, 2012, 10:07:15 AM by cvobiker »

wideglidejoe

• Full CVO Member
« Reply #16 on: September 02, 2012, 05:17:03 PM »

CVObiker,

I'm sure you are correct........I was referencing some Chinese versions that my friend has; he has several, and we've put a lot of rounds thru them.  Some of them have machined parts, some have stamped parts.  He bought a crate of them back in the 80's when he had a FFL.  Some of them came in very heavy carboard boxes that "looked" military, and they had red stars on the boxes.  That's what I was referring to.

I prefer the Russian SKS's, at least the ones I've shot.  As you stated they seem to have better quality than the Chinese versions.  Some of the Chinese versions have been pieced together from "non-matching" parts; several key pieces with different numbers on them.  The Russian versions I've seen are almost always "numbers matching" on mag well, trigger guard, upper receiver, lower receiver, stock, etc.

I don't have any exposure to the Albanian and Yugo.