Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4  All

Author Topic: Quick release for tour pack and relocate amp  (Read 24200 times)

Bobgratton1969

• Vive l'acadie!
Quick release for tour pack and relocate amp
« on: February 01, 2013, 11:02:03 AM »

Hi guys, I am new at this since I just bought my first ever Harley Davidson. It is a 2007 Screamin Eagle Ultra Classic Electra Glide. I am now looking at placing a quick release kit for my Tour Pack. I have read different stuff about similar cases but not really answering my questions. So here they are:
 - I have heard about lots of ratteling noises after the quick release kit for the tour pack was installed, is it true or it's just not installed correctly?
 - Where is the best place to relocate my amp??? Inside the front fairing, inside one of my saddlebags or is there a better place???

Thanks in advance!
Proud to be one of the HD guys!!!!
Stéphane

timo482

• Elite CVO Member
Re: Quick release for tour pack and relocate amp
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2013, 01:57:30 PM »

its going to really difficult to move the amp. on that year the wiring went from the head unit to the speakers - and then from the speakers to the amp and back. so there is a 4 wire cable going from the amp up thru the bike to the head end. none of the wire will reach and will have to be custom reworked to where ever you put the amp. if you put it in the bag nothing much can go in there because the amp has to have ventilation so it wont overheat.

anything can be done with the application of lots of cash.

most will suggest to install all new replacement aftermarket parts in the front end at the head unit, then the rear speakers when unplugged wont have side issues. [dont let the wires short] you will also have to deal with the intercom cable

and you will need to have alternate antenna locations figured out.