Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Oil catcher......major fail!!!  (Read 1808 times)

porkypig

• The only "easy" day was yesterday........
  • Elite CVO Member
  • Badeah, badeah, b'dat's All, Folks!!!

• CVO1: 2012 FLSTSE3
Oil catcher......major fail!!!
« on: July 22, 2012, 10:56:41 PM »

To anybody out there that is contemplating purchasing one of Harley's Oil Catchers for their 2010-2012 FLSTSE's.........don't waste your $$!  I have been contemplating this for 2 1/2 years now and finally decided to bite the bullet and buy one of these catchers because my oil change experiences have been less than favorable.  Try as hard as I might I just cannot change the filter without getting oil all over the engine as it drains from its pedestal and goes down the rest of the way by way of gravity.  Mess!  Tried the plastic bag thing wrapped around a warm filter as you try to spin it off and keep the bag in position.  It all gets twisted in a gooey mess and then you lose control of the filter change.  Fail.  So, this looked like the ticket.  However, it is not made specifically for the 110 engine or the softail either one.  The design is such that in order to get it underneath the filter, you must cut (very carefully) about an inch of the material off with a box knife.  it somes from the factory with a rolled edge on part of it that snaps under the edge of the filter.  But the rest you have to cut and when you do it has no hooked edge to snap around anything.  And when you put it in contact with a very warm filter, it makes the normally sturdy orange plastic very pliable. And of course with nothing to snap around the filter edge, the oil goes down at exactly the cut edge location and right over the edge of your engine frame and right down to the concrete below or if you are wise, floods down to the drip pan below.  Taking all your clean engine in its wake!  and because of the angle that it lays when drai