Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Crank case sensor ..checking for oil  (Read 1430 times)

bbrown

• 1K CVO Member

• CVO1: 04 SEEG BLK/BLU
    • CVO2: 11 SESG. ORANGE/ BLK
    • CVO3: 19 SERG LIGHTNING/ SLVR
Crank case sensor ..checking for oil
« on: September 14, 2019, 04:59:02 AM »

There has been lots written about checking for excess oil by removing the crank case sensor.  I am new at this and not sure of the procedure or even exactly where the sensor is on my 2019 RG

If anyone has knowledge of this and any photo I would appreciate seeing how to check this and here is why.

.I have been on a trip for two days.  After I ride for about an hour at speeds over 55 and need to accelerate there is no power. It just sputters like it’s not getting fuel and or air.  What’s odd is that if we go through a small town and are running at slow speeds for 5 to 10 minutes it’s fine again for 45 minutes to an hour. 

grc

• 10K CVO Member
  • AKA Grouchy Old Fart
    • IN

• CVO1: 2005 SEEG2
Re: Crank case sensor ..checking for oil
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2019, 09:03:30 AM »

Sounds like a classic case of sumping.  The crank position sensor on the M-8 was moved to the bottom of the cases, it is held in place by one small bolt and has an electrical harness attached.  See if you can find the bulletin on how to check for sumping, I know it's been posted here on the site.  The bulletin number is M1450.

Jerry
« Last Edit: September 14, 2019, 09:15:22 AM by grc »
Jerry - 2005 Cherry SEEG  -  Member # 1155

H-D and me  -  a classic love / hate relationship.  Current score:  love 40, hate 50, bewildered 10.

GB506

• Junior CVO Member
  • www.CVOHARLEY.com
    • WI

• CVO1: 2019 FLHXSE
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2019, 11:31:42 AM »