Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3  All

Author Topic: New to ABS brakes - 2013 FLHTCUSE8  (Read 4827 times)

Claytoninsc

• Full CVO Member
    • SC

• CVO1: FLHTCUSE8 2013
New to ABS brakes - 2013 FLHTCUSE8
« on: February 20, 2013, 10:45:58 PM »

I am new to ABS breaks and it seems the back brakes do not slow my bike down like my previous bike an 09 ultra classic it did not have ABS brakes. Is this just the difference between ABS and Traditional brakes? Or should I have the dealer check on the breaks at my 1000 mile service?

SDCVO

• 2.5K CVO Member
  • 19 CVO RG-12 CVO RG
    • CA

• CVO1: 2019 Mako Shark Roadglide
    • CVO2: 2012 Maple Roadglide
    • CVO3: 2019 BMW K1600 Grand America
Re: New to ABS brakes - 2013 FLHTCUSE8
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2013, 12:01:38 AM »

Takes a while for the rear brakes to "seat in". Many threads about it here
Alan

Aussie

• Elite CVO Member

• CVO1: FLHXSE3 Hot Citrus
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2013, 12:20:05 AM »

Takes a while for the rear brakes to "seat in". Many threads about it here

+1

Ironhorse

• Vendor
  • 2.5K CVO Member
    • CA

• CVO1: 2006 SE Ultra
    • CVO2: 2018 GoldWing DCT Airbag
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2013, 02:57:04 AM »

Having the dealer check them is not a bad idea, as they have a scan tool to analyze the ABS module for codes and issues. But like the man said it takes time for pads to seat. Also, bear in mind that ABS does not mean the bike will stop faster or quicker than non ABS brakes. All it means is that the wheels will not lock up on low traction surfaces like water, sand, grass clippings, leaves, or whatever. Everyone should practice braking regularly. If you have ABS, it's more important to practice so you can get a feel for what the bike is doing, and how it feels when the ABS deploys.

Mark
"But men are men, the best sometimes forget" Shakespeare, Othello Act 2, Scene 3

LovemyCVOgirl