Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 [3]  All

Author Topic: Sad...thought HD would have been better  (Read 3655 times)

Zinister

• Senior CVO Member

• CVO1: 2009 FXSTSSE3
Re: Sad...thought HD would have been better
« Reply #30 on: May 25, 2010, 09:11:49 PM »

I would think a down period would be a good time to address quality issues!!! Take the time to train your workers and put in processes to check the quality.

The only problem I see with the unions is that they do protect the bad employees. The upside is that they help all of us get better wages. And no I'm not in a union, I'm an engineer and I get to see the bean counters cutting costs and resources so that the big wigs get bigger profit sharing. Don't worry, you'll never get any of the extra profit margin in the way of discounted pricing.

Jerry/MD

« Reply #31 on: May 25, 2010, 09:50:50 PM »

I think he's talking about the rear drive belt adjusters.  I don't know that I agree that they are an improvement over the old style adjusters in terms of precision, but they are much easier for the assembly operation.

There is a way to fix that incorrect assembly, if that's what actually occurred, of the tensioners.  Design the thing so it's impossible to put it together the wrong way.  There are many examples of parts, in all sorts of products, that are designed to only go together one way.  It's called error proofing, and it's something Harley needs to spend a little time learning about.  For instance, things like DC electric tools that monitor installation torque in real time, and either identify fasteners that need repair or actually shut down the process, would help eliminate all those loose parts and maybe allow H-D to eliminate that critical part checklist that they want checked at prep, at 1000 miles, at 5000 miles, and at every subsequent 5000 miles.