Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 [All]

Author Topic: Speaker + and -  (Read 2692 times)

Highjagger

• 2.5K CVO Member
  • tradition`s not worship ash but pass on the fire

• CVO1: FXSE Breakout Pro Street 2016 ,- and 2011 Crossbones FLSTSB ,- and 2016 LowRider s FXDLs
Speaker + and -
« on: November 09, 2009, 04:36:54 PM »

Which is + and which is - from the stock wire of the audio , the infinitys do not have a plug and play version , there is a + and a - at the speakers.
 Thy also have a switch for 0db or -3db , one can choose . Which would you choose (say is best?) ?
Success is to stand up one more than to fall down

jimsmith94

Re: Speaker + and -
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2009, 08:55:57 PM »

As a 40-year professional musician, I can say the plus and minus on speakers don't matter. However, DO be sure that you wire both/all of the speakers the same or they will be out of phase. Out of phase will cause less bass and volume.

The DB switch is probably for your preference of how loud you want the amp to be, but I'm not 100% sure.

hd-dude

• Global Moderator
  • 5k CVO Member
  • 2005 Cherry FLHTCSE2 "Obsession"

• CVO1: 05 FLHTCSE2
    • Metal Dragon
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2009, 10:16:41 PM »

I respectfully disagree with the above. While not a professional musician I did spend many years in the car audio industry doing many many award winning installations. I also have very high end home audio equipment. The polarity of the speaker is critical as the cone of the speaker moves inward or outward based on this. If a speakers polarity is reversed the cone will pull inward instead of outward. This is most apparrent with low frequencies.  You are correct with speakers both being the same. If you have, for example, the left correct and the right reversed the speakers will cancel each other out and result in very poor low frequency response (out of phase).