Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6  All

Author Topic: Hayden Tensioner install by a noob  (Read 19563 times)

cambo

• 1K CVO Member

• CVO1: 2013 CVO Breakout
    • CVO2: 2015 Ultra Limited
Hayden Tensioner install by a noob
« on: April 28, 2014, 07:54:21 AM »

After reading as many of the threads on the Hayden Tensioner I could find (on this site and the hdforum) I decided to pull the trigger on doing the install myself. As I have noted before I am not very experienced in the art of fiddling with mechanical contraptions. So before I do something stupid that I may (or may not!) live to regret, I want to reach out to the gurus on this site to see if there are any other words of wisdom or if anyone thinks I should not attempt it myself for any reason. But I really think this might be something I can pull off. My previous work on my bike involves the Shotgun shock and the premium oil cooler, both done right! ;D And I have to say doing the work myself is a heck of a lot more satisfying than getting someone else to do it.

Thank you very much in advance.

Cam

P.S. I will be taking pictures of the process, mistakes'n'all, and post here when done.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2014, 10:49:47 AM by camcvo »

Rooster

• 5k CVO Member
  • FLhtcuse2.ORG
Re: Hayden Tensioner install by a noob
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2014, 11:00:37 AM »

You can do it. Just assemble the Hayden unit then use some sort of clamp to squish it down and hold it there while you put a zip tie on each side take off clamp and slide new unit in place, use locktite and install two large bolts then snip off the zip ties and pull them out. Reinstall large cover and fill. Now go for a ride and see how much smoother it shifts.

cambo

• 1K CVO Member

« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2014, 11:09:42 AM »