Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2  All

Author Topic: Watch a loved one crash...  (Read 6509 times)

harleychef2011

• Full CVO Member
  • www.CVOHARLEY.com
    • CA

• CVO1: 2014 Road King - Tribal Orange & Galactic Black
Watch a loved one crash...
« on: September 08, 2015, 04:49:00 PM »

I've been riding for about 10 years now.  My kids have "grown up" more or less watching me ride.  My 20 year old son saved up his money for a down payment on a Fat Bob...while out riding the next day (he took the MSF driving class already) he made a rookie mistake when hitting a bump and crashed right in front of me.  Luckily not hurt too bad...but brand new bike all screwed up.  My heart was broken for him.  Months later and several eBay purchases later we got his bike pretty much back to new shape... poor kid fell over on a small hill...no major damage.  We finally had a chance to ride together and were on a nice mountain road (in hindsight probably too risky in the first place) and watched him crash in my rear view mirror on a curve.  I was distraught.  He was amazingly lucky and walked away with little more than a scratched helmet...but I knew in my heart that was a miracle....he could have been serverly hurt or even died on a wreck like that.

I'm proud of him because he is back in the saddle and not giving up.  But the "sick to my stomach" feeling haunts me after watching him crash like that.  I'm thankful he's healthy and didn't get hurt...but MAN, did that suck!

Had to get that off my chest, I guess.  Anyone else watched a loved one or friend wreck?  How did you "get over it"?
2014 CVO Road King
V&H Power Duals
V&H Carbon Fiber Tip Pipes
HD Super Tuner & Dyno - 98.7 HP 112.9TQ
RoadTech 665 GPS
Mucho HD Add-Ons!!!

GregKhougaz

• It's a Two Wheeled World.
  • Global Moderator
  • 5k CVO Member
    • CA

• CVO1: '22 BMW Grand America
    • CVO2: '18 Porsche C4 GTS