Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Discolored heatshields  (Read 2057 times)

Coake

• www.CVOHARLEY.com
    • BC

Discolored heatshields
« on: March 13, 2017, 01:35:21 PM »

Brand new, this pic is on the showroom floor when I went and saw the bike I purchased over the phone sight unseen :)
This is my first bike ever and when I saw it, I wasn't about to leave it on the showroom floor.
The sales lady said the discoloring looked great, her cuteness was greater than my willingness to question her.

From what I've read, the discoloring is coming from excessive heat? I also gather if I were to tune the bike, that would cool it down. Is this correct? I imagine there is nothing I can do to restore the smoke finish short of getting new shields.
My apologies, I'm completely new to the motorcycle world.

grc

• 10K CVO Member
  • AKA Grouchy Old Fart
    • IN

• CVO1: 2005 SEEG2
Re: Discolored heatshields
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2017, 02:27:42 PM »

If that is a photo of a brand new bike, not used, then you need to have them replace the shield with a new smoked shield.  That photo looks like something taken off an old abused bike, not a factory fresh bike.  I have no idea how they managed to overheat it like that.

Jerry
« Last Edit: March 13, 2017, 02:31:26 PM by grc »
Jerry - 2005 Cherry SEEG  -  Member # 1155

H-D and me  -  a classic love / hate relationship.  Current score:  love 40, hate 50, bewildered 10.

Grizzly

• 2.5K CVO Member
    • ON

• CVO1: '05 Jalapeno 1 of 692 sold
    • CVO2: '08 Duracell #601 of 1,800
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2017, 02:35:24 PM »

Cute or not, no way should a brand new bike be delivered in that fashion.

They should definitely be replacing it to "new" condition, if in fact it is a new bike with less than 10 miles on it.
ALL 10 Provinces & ALL Lower 48 States ridden on "MY" bike

NW Territories and Alaska, here I come!

ultrarider123