Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2  All

Author Topic: 117 cam selection?  (Read 10817 times)

Hondo2doc

• Senior CVO Member
  • www.CVOHARLEY.com
117 cam selection?
« on: April 21, 2017, 09:24:05 AM »

Well because of bad rings the moco is putting a new motor in my 2015 SESG. So I figured while it's at the dealer might as well put in the 117 kit too. My dealer has made me a really good deal to do this. But don't wanna use the 259 cam with that kit. So I'll use the top end 117 kit #92500050 plus I have a 58mm throttle body. I'll get new injectors too. Plus have my heads ported. I have read and read and read past posts about all the different cams and what they'll do. I need suggestions for a cam that will compliment the 117.

I'm not looking to run at 120 plus. I enjoy getting from 30 to 110 real fast. I'm not a mechanic by any means but I do understand you need good "matching" parts with a build to work together.

So any cam input would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Yellow09SERG

• 1K CVO Member

• CVO1: FLTRSE3 YELLOW!!
Re: 117 cam selection?
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2017, 09:44:09 AM »

If your sticking with a HD cam several have had very good luck with the SE 585. Texas103 is running that set up and happy.  If your open to the aftermarket world that opens a whole different world. I am running the 24D Kury with a very restrictive exhaust and low compression and very happy with where it ended up on bottom end.
Most great stores start with a bad decision

DCFIREMANN

• 2.5K CVO Member
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2017, 10:25:22 AM »

T-Man 600-C. I am changing out the 24d's that I have in my build right now. The 24-d is a good cam but that big inch motor will need a little more cam.

Be Safe

THE DAWG
cvo 1  04 FLHTCSEI  Qrange/Black AKA Ole Punkin
cvo 2 05 VRSCXe Orange/Black sold
cvo 3 02 FXDWG2 Black/Gold 
cvo 4 04 FLHTCSE Blue/Black  sold