Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2  All

Author Topic: ECM and Power Commander  (Read 3437 times)

Bagger

ECM and Power Commander
« on: December 26, 2006, 10:06:58 PM »

I'm trying to figure out the use of a Power Commander with a TC 103 and get my homework accurately completed BEFORE I start ordering parts and making dyno appoinmtents.  I have plenty of experience with PCIIIUSB and a Stage 1 ECM on a TC 88.  I am of the thought that since I had a SE air cleaner and V&H pipes on my old TC 88 bike (pre- 95" mod) that it would be a good idea to have the Stage 1 ECM flash even though I planned to use a PCIIIUSB.  I believe this because: 1) the Stage 1 ECM flash increases rev limit to 6200 rpm, and 2) if the PCIIIUSB ever failed, I'd have the Stage 1 ECM flash to fall back on, so I could get home without burning up my engine, which would be running WAY too lean with an SE air cleaner, V&H pipes and a stock ECM.
On my 06 SEUC I'm running a SE air cleaner and stock pipes/mufflers and whatever it is HD is calling their ECM flash for TC 103 bikes with SE air cleaners and SE mufflers, which is loaded via the Digital Technician (DT).  I chose to keep my stock mufflers because this is the first bike I've ever had that isn't loud...........and I noticed that Renea likes to ride more often now, but that is neither here nor there.
Renea has recently succombed to my pleas for a set of V&H TDs with Oval slip-ons.  When I do this, I want to use a PC for tuning.  That said, and since there are no maps on the PC website for my proposed equipment, and since I have no idea what HD is calling the flash they put in my ECM, I do not have a baseline from which to start tweaking.  My assumption is I'm going to have to install the pipes and PC, and trailer it to a dyno.  
First question:  Is my assumption in the last paragraph accurate?