Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 [3]  All

Author Topic: Pushing Fuel Limit Almost Ended Up Pushing The Bike  (Read 7490 times)

Supershooter

• Elite CVO Member
  • First Ride 03 FXDWG

• CVO1: 2010 SEUC-sold
    • CVO2: 2011 SESG
Re: Pushing Fuel Limit Almost Ended Up Pushing The Bike
« Reply #30 on: June 26, 2016, 04:48:20 PM »

I haven't ever ran out on a bike, even though the fuel might came on and the range went to 0 we still managed to roll into a station on my Ultra. I have ran out in a tractor and a car. I've figured out that it takes, an emence amount of time to get where I'm going if I'm waiting for someone to bring me fuel, as apposed to just stopping to fill, even if it's not my preferred fuel type. We will run with the fuel light on, as long as we know where our fuel stops are, but I have no desire to experience an pucker factor. Good news fuel stops are now closer together than every 100 miles out west, as long as your not trying to avoid civilization.
Supershooter

RonandJanet

• 1K CVO Member
« Reply #31 on: July 13, 2016, 12:41:07 PM »

I generally get gas when just under 1/4 with around 180 to 200 miles on the tank.   I have gone further and the most I have put in was 5.1 gallons. Which tells me I have at least another 40 miles.   

I worked a gas station in the early 70s'. Regular was 19 to 29 during that time. Man I enjoyed working there!  I learned a lot about life and people with so many comings and goings.  We stayed open until 11 which was late and you would see some interesting people. 

HUBBARD

• 2.5K CVO Member
  • FLHTCUSE7
    • WV

« Reply #32 on: July 13, 2016, 12:59:21 PM »

I generally get gas when just under 1/4 with around 180 to 200 miles on the tank.   I have gone further and the most I have put in was 5.1 gallons. Which tells me I have at least another 40 miles.