Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2  All

Author Topic: It's all about Garmin Zumo (660)  (Read 4692 times)

jesse111

• Full CVO Member
    • Jesse Phoenix
It's all about Garmin Zumo (660)
« on: May 03, 2010, 12:18:52 PM »

When I left on this trip to Docs tuning and Traxxion Dynamics, frustration with wrong turns in unfamiliar territory was not going to be part of my program. The only way to achieve that particular goal was GPS. My sense of direction stinks.

Two days before I left my 660 arrived in the mail. Took a day to install it. I mounted on the handle bar and ran the wires through the break line hole in the fairing then tie wrapped to the main harness directly to the battery. This required removal of the fairing front as well as the gas tank. Then you have to dig through the ecm under the seat to get to the battery. Like I said, it took me a day. I go slow since I'm not a mechanic but the install went very well.

Accuracy is dead on. The screen information is clear, basic and easily discernible. Lane assist works beautifully. Speed assist is surprisingly accurate. Speed assist, as I call it, tells you what the speed limit is where you are in case you missed the speed limit sign. Bear in mind it does not take in to account work zones. They are just too transient.

Lots of very useful info on the main screen. Additional screens are easy to get to with minimal layers to tap through.

It's interface is intuitive but like any program takes some practice and repetition. Fuel guage works excellent once you get it set, not really necessary on the ultras but it works accurately nonetheless and is just fun to play with.