Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 [All]

Author Topic: Recommendation 3" or 6" polisher for the bike?  (Read 6756 times)

bikeman_ne

• www.CVOHARLEY.com
Recommendation 3" or 6" polisher for the bike?
« on: May 26, 2015, 05:25:32 PM »

Which size polisher do you recommend for your bike, 3" or 6"?

CVODON

• 1K CVO Member
    • FL

• CVO1: 15 FLTRUSE
Re: Recommendation 3" or 6" polisher for the bike?
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2015, 07:00:34 PM »

Buy a Porter-Cable and get a 3" and 6" backing plate. I have both and I think if you do much polishing you will find you never use the 3" size. Buy the 7.5" pads with the curved lip, that way the base pad is protected from coming in contact with the painted surface. I have been using the Lake County pads for over 10 years and they, in my opinion are the best, Chemical guys are a second place choice here. For a new HD you will not need to do much if any cutting ever. Maybe a white pad for cleaning, maybe, but mostly a soft red or yellow to apply a carnuba type wax. I prefer the no-cut yellow for final wax and for applying top-coat products. Both my cars and the bike look amazing using these.
Any questions send me a PM, Auto-Geek is a good supply source.

luc.who

• Senior CVO Member
    • PA

• CVO1: 2012 FLHXSE3 Slate gray/Black
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2015, 07:34:04 PM »

Don, thanks for the post.  I have been afraid to use my PV on the bike.  I use chemical pads on my black tundra and Meg's products.  When I wax the bike I do it manually.
2012 FLHXSE3 Slate Gray/ Diamond Black
Drago Heads & 580 Cams
118 HP and 125 TQ
Built & Tuned by Wide Open Cycles in Virginia
TTS Master Tuner
Fullsac DX Header
Rinehart 4inch slip ons

Phantom309

• 2014 Ultra Limited
  • Elite CVO Member
    • PA

• CVO1: 2005 SEEG- light/dark Candy Cherry-sold
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2015, 03:17:59 AM »