Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2  All

Author Topic: Lifter Tolerances  (Read 6748 times)

PCSH

Lifter Tolerances
« on: August 14, 2013, 08:00:39 AM »

Hi from the UK, I am new to this informative site and this is my first posting!

I am the proud and joyous owner of a 2011 model Roadglide Ultra registered in 2012. To my abject horror :o, after only 6.5k miles, the bike is in my local dealership with a lifter 'tappet' noise, which I have read is well documented here and by no means uncommon amongst CVO owners. The dealership have endorsed there is excessive noise and wear to the lifter bores. After a strip down and photos sent to Milwaukee Technical, they have responded with a request for the dealership to measure the lifter bores in the crankcase to ascertain if it is 'excessive' wear or 'fair wear and tear' within given tolerances. Surely a 110 engine should last more than 6.5k miles!!!
MY QUESTION IS "DOES ANYONE KNOW WHAT THE HD PUBLISHED TOLERANCES ARE FOR THE LIFTER BORES THROUGH THE CRANKCASE"??
Having recognised and caught the issue early, I am really concerned that they will come back and say it is 'fair wear and tear' and try to side-step the issue. I don't want to go through all this again when the noise gets worse and the warranty has expired. I would like to be able to discuss this issue from an informed point of view. Your help will be hugely appreciated!!

ultrafxr

• There are no sure answers, only better questions. - Dick Van Dyke
  • 5k CVO Member
  • No problem is so small it cannot be misunderstood.
    • TN

• CVO1: 2020 FLHTCUTG Tahitian Teal
    • CVO2: 2017 FLHTKSE Palladium Silver/Phantom Blue/Wicked Sapphire-traded
    • CVO3: 2012 FLHTCUSE7 Electric Orange/Black Diamond-traded
Re: Lifter Tolerances
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2013, 09:21:04 AM »