Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2]  All

Author Topic: Y splitter to run more than one antenna on a Boom Radio  (Read 7352 times)

r0de_runr

• Elite CVO Member
  • Officer Scott Noller RIP, 01/04/1989 - 12/28/2017
    • TX

• CVO1: 2019 Ultra Limited 114
    • CVO2: 2022 Heritage 114
    • CVO3: SOLD: 2014 Ultra Limited; SOLD: 2012 CVO Street Glide, SOLD 2016 BMW
    • Wichitagreg
Re: Y splitter to run more than one antenna on a Boom Radio
« Reply #15 on: August 21, 2015, 09:39:30 AM »

I'm no XM expert but I recon it's the antenna placement.  On your truck, if it's like mine, it is located on top of the cab.  No matter what direction the truck is going, the antenna can probably "see" the southern sky.

On the motorcycle, and I do not know where the antenna is, probably not so it can always have an unrestricted view of the southern sky.  There may be times when hard parts or your body obscures the signal.

I do not think any booster will help and it is not a weak signal that can be amplified so much as it is no signal.

Just my opinion.
Greg
formerly WichitaGreg
Lives in the TX Hill Country
AKA r0de_runr
Explore your VA Benefits:  http://1.usa.gov/1NPzKkM

mark

« Reply #16 on: August 21, 2015, 09:48:04 AM »

I'm no XM expert but I recon it's the antenna placement.  On your truck, if it's like mine, it is located on top of the cab.  No matter what direction the truck is going, the antenna can probably "see" the southern sky.

On the motorcycle, and I do not know where the antenna is, probably not so it can always have an unrestricted view of the southern sky.  There may be times when hard parts or your body obscures the signal.

I do not think any booster will help and it is not a weak signal that can be amplified so much as it is no signal.

Just my opinion.