Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: S&S Lifter Install  (Read 6517 times)

brassspike

• Elite CVO Member
    • NC

S&S Lifter Install
« on: February 24, 2016, 08:10:07 PM »

First of all, I'm no HD mechanic. I don't consider myself a mechanic at all really. I just like working on my stuff. I've done a fair amount with cars and my previous EVO.
Over the years I have learned a great deal from the members here and have contributed what I can here and there. I hope that has helped someone along the way. The real mechanics will think some of this is really basic but keep in mind some of us have never ventured inside a twin cam.
The problem with lifter failures in the '11 and '12 motors is well documented here. My thanks to those that have given us that information. Without that, some us wouldn't find out until too late.
In my case I decided to do a preemptive strike. and go ahead and replace them. In addition, I chose to replace the inner cam bearings, pushrods, pushrod covers, oil pump, and cam plate. Granted I could have done less replacement, but I wanted to do it "right" and I hated the low hot oil pressure. I knew that these motors are fine with 5 or so pounds at hot idle, but to me, it was worth it to see that needle a little higher. Besides, I figured that a higher pressure at idle might just move a little more oil through the cooler.
I started by removing the exhaust, air cleaner, front and rear boards on the right side. No surprises there. The exhaust wrap that I use crumbled as expected. I did find out that DEI has a better product called "titanium" that I used on reassembly. It seems to remain more pliable after heating and does not "stink the place up" while curing under heat.