Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Pricey Front Fender  (Read 1384 times)

leoniru

• Full CVO Member
Pricey Front Fender
« on: June 22, 2007, 02:05:18 PM »

Just got back from the dealer where I went to get an estimate for my SERK's  'christening' which happened yesterday.
It seems that Mr. Harley engineer didn't think through the detachable windshield mounting system far enough. Net result was that my bike's windshield was blown off by a landing helicopter while it was parked near (about 150 feet ) the helipad.
Now before everyone begins to think that I must really be stupid to park there, let me just say that I had only stopped by to run in and pick up my paycheck ( I work in the health care field), and am painfully aware of the incompatability of active helicopters and parked motorcycles. The helipads lights were off (indicating no expected flights), and the payroll checks were not in the department yet, so I went to our breakroom to fix a cup of coffee and voila....the next thing I know is when one of my co-workers informed me that the helicopter had just blown off the windshield on my bike! I exited the break room and saw my windshield lying on the ER nurse's station.
No usual forwarning of the anticipated landing.
The best part was when I noticed the ding in my front fender, and recalled someone else on this forum posting a similar account (from gusty wind - no helicopter) and warning about tightening-up the quick detachable keepers -- which I did, but apparently not enough.
Total is $304.95 for the complete windshield, and $870.00 for the front fender plus labor and tax comes to $1,328.15.
Guesstimated 8 weeks lead time for the fender.
No apology from anyone. No one willing to accept accountability. I'll likely have to eat my deductable and hope my premiums don't soar.
I should have gotten direct deposit.

jeffj

• 1K CVO Member
  • "Teach a man to swim, but not while he's drowning"