Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: tuned right?  (Read 969 times)

popper

• Junior CVO Member

• CVO1: 2008 FLHRSE4
tuned right?
« on: April 05, 2008, 12:47:02 AM »

Howdy. I've got a FLHRSE4 Annie with SERT and Rineharts. The dealer ran the bike on their dyno to set the bike to the tuner. The bike had 0 miles when this all started and the dealer ran up the 50 miles for break-in when they tuned it. they kept speed and load down because of low miles and told me to bring it back when I get some miles on it so they can recheck it. I've got about 400 miles on it so far. I've been reading about the leaky head gaskets and so on. I'm not a mechanic much less a tuner. I have attended a couple of local clinics about tuning and exhausts. The main thing I hear everywhere is that bluing on a pipe is caused by improper tuning. I was looking at my pipes and noticed that my front pipe has changed to a brownish color. My rear pipe is blue. This makes me believe that the rear is running too hot. I think I understand that the SERT can individually adjust each cylinder to help with temps. I am hoping that if the tuning gets right it will help rear cylinder temps and maybe even the head gasket issues from happening. Am I thinking right on this? I thinks I have to study about tuning so I will know if the tuner man is doing things right.
Keep your knees to the breeze.   
Keep your knees to the breeze

Hugh Janis

• Jim
  • 5k CVO Member

• CVO1: FLHTCUSE2 Cherry and Black
Re: tuned right?
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2008, 07:41:35 AM »

Are you referring to bluing behind the shields?  If so, I wouldn't get too caught up in that.  They all do it eventually.  If the bluing is on the pipes and shields, well that's a different story.  Yes, it's possible to tune the cylinders individually.  With 50 miles to tune it the tech may have tuned both cylinders individually.  I'd ask them if they did.