Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Engine Knock?  (Read 2220 times)

richbiker

• RJs Custom V-Twin
    • WA

• CVO1: 2007 CVO ulrta (sold)
    • CVO2: 2012 CVO softail convertible
    • CVO3: 2017 CVO Ultra Limited
Engine Knock?
« on: June 05, 2008, 08:14:35 PM »

Hi all 
   Newbie here, I have a 07SE ultra with 6000miles on it and it has developed a knock on the left side of the engine in the last 100 miles or so. The knock sounds like the compensator is loose but dealer tightened that and it made no difference.
The dealer that has it says they can not here the noise but are waiting for the H-D rep to come by and take it for a ride.
The noise happens when I slightly accell from a steady speed. It did not do this until recently. It always had a similar noise at high RPM under heavy throttle and I was told that was normal. Is this new noise normal? If not what do I do if the rep says it is? My thought is do the compensator's go bad?
Thanks.

erniezap

• Global Moderator
  • 2.5K CVO Member

• CVO1: 2012 SEUC - Black/Orange
Re: Engine Knock?
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2008, 08:23:28 PM »

The 110's had a lot of crankshaft issues, so I would not let this slide.  Worst case, ask them to check the crank runout.
2012 Black/Orange SEUC

sportygordy

• 1K CVO Member
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2008, 01:26:44 AM »

OH Yea...

Knock Knock,,,

Who's there?

Crank

Crank Who?

Crank going bye-bye....... :nixweiss:

Gecko

• Elite CVO Member
  • FLHRSEI.ORG
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2008, 07:41:47 AM »

HD's roster of "normal" seems to be expanding daily.  "Them flames?  That's normal for a high performance engine".  "You can expect to see the cases bulging a little, they put the SE rocker box vents in these".  "Talked to the factory rep, he says they're seeing cracks in the frame fairly often; it's mostly on bikes with aftermarket mirrors, so..."