Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: J+M amp / speaker install gone wrong  (Read 2592 times)

lastdegree

• Senior CVO Member

• CVO1: 2010 SESG Spiced Rum a.k.a Jack Sparrow
J+M amp / speaker install gone wrong
« on: July 08, 2010, 01:33:28 PM »

Hello,

J+M arrived yesterday so I found a few hours to install.   Hands up I am no electrician, but thought this would have be relatively straight forward so why not have a go?

Speakers went in no problem - tested all OK.   Amp went in and instructions followed - tested and I have no power to the radio and I now have a side stand message on dash display. 

I've checked wiring several times.  Small ground from amp is on radio case and large one near battery is on chassis - all looks ok. 

I'm clearly missing something - would someone have an idea?

Thanks in advance
Spiced Rum 100% stock. just as it left the factory and that's what my good lady thinks too!

Maladjusted

• Senior CVO Member
Re: J+M amp / speaker install gone wrong
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2010, 02:49:57 PM »

Confused... you have no power at the radio?... sounds like fuse. 

Are you sure you put both leads back on the negative terminal? (I almost missed the one that was there before the amp lead).

2010 FLHXSE Spicey Rum
Lots of stuff

worshipduder

• Senior CVO Member

• CVO1: 2010 SESG
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2010, 05:44:44 PM »

Call AL at Dr VTwin. He has installed a hundred of them. I am sure he can walk you thru what you did wrong

mj

2010 FLXHSE Candy Concord
V&H Power Duals
V&H Hi-Output Slip-ons
TTS Mastertune
Feuling Reaper 574 Camchest Kit
Feuling Oil Pump
Dyno'd at 116 HP & 118 TQ
C&C Flame Stitched Seat
Wild 1 Chubby 575s
PM Contour Touring Mirrors
J&M 7.25 Speakers & 250 Watt Amp
Hogtunes Hogpod
Riders Claw
HD Contoured Heated Hand Grips
Wicked Image Flame Shift Linkage
Klock Werks Flare 8.5
HD Electra-Glo™ Light Pod Kit
Kury License Plate

lastdegree

• Senior CVO Member