Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: TTS Mastertune and computer crash - need help  (Read 1709 times)

fourstar

• Senior CVO Member

• CVO1: 09 FLHTCUSE4
    • CVO2: 04 FLSTCI
TTS Mastertune and computer crash - need help
« on: October 23, 2010, 06:07:43 PM »

I have been using Mastertune for about 2 years now.  Initially I was using a Toshiba Satellite running Windows XP with a Keyspan USA-19HS USB Serial adapter.  The battery in the Toshiba is only good for about 5 minutes now and I need to do some V-Tune recording, so I switched to an HP laptop, still running XP and using the Keyspan adapter.  Several times while uploading a map to the ECM, the HP would "bluescreen" on me and crash.  I managed to get the map uploaded and then tried to do V-Tune recordings.  Anywhere from a few seconds to a few minutes into the data run, the HP would "bluescreen" and crash.
I switched to a Vaio running Vista and again with the Keyspan adapter tried to do V-Tune recordings, and I get the same crash, bluescreen and error message:  "IRQL not less or equal". 
I hooked the Toshiba back up and ran it from the workbench and it continues to work without a problem, even recording data.  I ran Windows updater on both of the problem computers to insure I had the latest software, and loaded and ran the TTS programs with virus protection disabled.  I am also using the latest drivers from Keyspan. 
I suspect the Keyspan adapter is the culprit, but I really have no idea.  I was thinking of buying the TTS adapter, but before I shell out any more money I thought I might check and see if anyone on the board has any suggestions or ideas. 
Any computer whizzes out there with a suggestion?
“Red! I want red, there's no substitute for red!”
                                                             -Sammy Hagar

mjb765

• 5k CVO Member

• CVO1: 2011 FLHXSE--sold
    • CVO2: 2015 FLHXSE--sold
    • CVO3: 2018 FLTRXSE