Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: 2011 FLHXSE2 need running lights  (Read 1281 times)

prstar1

2011 FLHXSE2 need running lights
« on: March 05, 2012, 12:47:24 AM »

New to the forum, and bought my 2011 FHLXSE2 in May of last year, the inferno orange and black diamond. I would like to add passing lamps on and wondered how difficult it is rather than having the dealership do it. Has anyone here installed their own and did you use Harley passing lamps? I'm actually a carpenter but I've got a friend that works on bikes to help so I'm not that intimidated. Thanks.

Rogzy

• Rogzy
  • Full CVO Member
Re: 2011 FLHXSE2 need running lights
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2012, 03:29:31 AM »

I had my dealer install the LED headlight and passing lights and was told it's a plug and play installation.
Four Wheels move the body. Two Wheels move the Soul

backroad Mike

• Elite CVO Member

• CVO1: 2011 FLHXSE2 Krypto
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2012, 05:13:14 AM »

I added the same thing on my FLHXSE2 krypto bike.   The setup the dealer sold me was not exactly plug and play.
The wiring for the auxlilary lights had to be ran through the SE mounts so there were no pin connectors on the ends of the wires.  Those have to be threaded through some rather small guide holes in the mount before you crimp the pin connectors to the wires and feed them into the connector.

It's not a difficult job, but having a tool to put the proper crimp on the pin so it still fits into the connector is key.  Tightening the nut on the bottom of the lamp housing with the wire coming out throught the end of the bolt is a joy too.

DavidG

• Full CVO Member

• CVO1: 2011 FLHXSE2
    • CVO2: 2007 FLHRSE3 **Sold**
    • CVO3: 2007 FXSTSSE **sold**
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2012, 08:01:21 AM »