Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Oil Temp  (Read 1313 times)

the O`Fender

• Elite CVO Member
  • On the Dragon
Oil Temp
« on: October 11, 2004, 11:32:57 AM »

I have one of those LED tempature dipsticks and after running the bike hard in the warmer weather I have seen temps of 230 degrees, even now in cooler weather been seeing 215 degrees. Looking for anybody elses experience here, I am new to using the synth oil and know that my dyno using fossil oil ran closer to 200 degrees hot around 180 degrees cool.
So really my question is this the norm?  [smiley=bulb2.gif] [smiley=bulb.gif]
« Last Edit: October 11, 2004, 02:59:11 PM by the_ofender »
2020 Scorched Orange Limited

mfgreen

Re: Oil Temp
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2004, 11:48:35 AM »

I have one of those LED tempature dipsticks and after running the bike hard in the warmer weather I have seen temps of 230 degrees, even now in cooler weather been seeing 215 degrees. Looking for anybody elses experience here, I am new to using the sync oil and know that my dyno using fossil oil ran closer to 200 degrees hot around 180 degrees cool.
So really my question is this the norm?  [smiley=bulb2.gif] [smiley=bulb.gif]

Temps seem about right, ofender, do you happen to know what changes you are getting with your oil pressure?  The difference between the fossil oil and the synthetic?  Do you see a direct correlation in pressure rise and drop with temperature variation?

110tHunDer

• 10K CVO Member
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2004, 12:55:05 PM »