Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2]  All

Author Topic: Resting your foot on the heel shifter  (Read 5061 times)

moscooter

• 1K CVO Member
Re: Resting your foot on the heel shifter
« Reply #15 on: June 10, 2016, 07:18:57 PM »

:P
Having owned a variety of brands over the years,  I've had plenty of experience with just using the toe.....up/down.  I'm now on my 5th harley and the first of which was a Dyna Wide Glide.  That model was set up perfectly for just using the toe.

Since then though,  I've had all Tour models.  I can tell ya for a fact,  to me it's faster and more convenient and no scuff marks on your boot toe to slam down on that heel shifter.

Now,  here is the "trick" you need to employ so as to ease the minds of those .............that think you might "slam the gears, and/or break something.  Pull that heel shifter off of its splines and relocate it so as it (bottoms out) on that "cushy" floor pad and cannot be jammed any further.  This eliminates any excessive pressure above and beyond what is needed to complete the shift.

Other than that,  one other point as you mention "resting your foot on the heel shifter"...........If you do NOT raise your heel sufficiently after making that shift,  the trans will not "ratchet" to be set up for the next gear shift..........so the result will be you remain in the same gear when you slam it again.

Don't ask me how I know that. :oops:   

CVODON

• 1K CVO Member
    • FL

• CVO1: 15 FLTRUSE
« Reply #16 on: June 11, 2016, 05:23:19 PM »