Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: MoCo replacing my ECM & Race Tuner in my 2008 SERK  (Read 1785 times)

Black Diamond

• 2.5K CVO Member

• CVO1: 11 FLHXSE2 "Vanessa"
    • CVO2: 08 FLHRSE4 "Lexi" "Bike from Hell"
    • CVO3: 02 FLHRSEI "Ruby"
MoCo replacing my ECM & Race Tuner in my 2008 SERK
« on: May 23, 2009, 10:45:54 PM »

I posted about this problem in my thread on my T-Man build. I thought I'd give a few details here in the hopes that more site members would see this for future reference.

I am a layman to the tuner world so I will give you what I can in broad terms. When the guys at my shop were trying to tune in my scooter using the SERT, the program was not reacting properly. When attempting to adjust the AFR, the timing would fluctuate wildly. The bike was giving codes to shut down the motor due to a throttle body sensor problem and would immediately cancel the code. At times the bike would idle at 900 rpm but would occasionally idle at 1250 rpm or not idle at all.

After 5 hours, the tech gave up, came out of the room frustrated and asked if I could leave the bike so he could talk with the Mo Co tech people over the next couple of days with bike in hand. After 2 more attempts to get the tune right, they felt I should ride her and see where we're at as Tech was not giving much advice.

I noticed my speedo was not functioning correctly. The odometer function for miles remaining would show I could go 103 miles on 1 gallon of gas. Then the turn signals occasionally not self cancel. Finally the security system would go off with the key fob sitting on the bike.

See   http://www.cvoharley.com/smf/index.php?topic=34789.msg585896#msg585896 for other details

The Mo Co is replacing the ECM Tuesday. They are also supplying a SEST to replace the SERT. They feel the SERT is not as compatible with the wireless throttle system as the Super Tuner. FYI

JW

LarryB

• Tennessee Squire