Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: First gear engagement  (Read 4058 times)

skorch

• Full CVO Member
    • NC

• CVO1: 2010 FLHXSE tequila sunrise
    • CVO2: 2018 FLHXSE gunship Gray
First gear engagement
« on: February 24, 2013, 07:55:10 AM »

I am new to the CVO and hydro clutch system,but it sure seems extremely harsh shifting into first from neutral when getting going-very loud bang.On my previous 5 bikes cable operated clutches, it was never this harsh-is this normal?

grc

• 10K CVO Member
  • AKA Grouchy Old Fart
    • IN

• CVO1: 2005 SEEG2
Re: First gear engagement
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2013, 10:11:30 AM »

Sounds like your clutch is dragging.  A dragging clutch never lets the trans input shaft slow down, so when a rapidly spinning part engages a stationary part, such as when you engage first from neutral while sitting still, the result is a big clunk and the bike will jerk.  This is often worse on the initial engagement after a cold start.

Make sure there is no air in the hydraulic system, as that will reduce the travel of the clutch pushrod and not fully release the clutch.  The actual travel of the pushrod can be measured and compared to the specified travel to make sure that part of the system is working correctly.

Jerry
Jerry - 2005 Cherry SEEG  -  Member # 1155

H-D and me  -  a classic love / hate relationship.  Current score:  love 40, hate 50, bewildered 10.

ultrafxr

• There are no sure answers, only better questions. - Dick Van Dyke
  • 5k CVO Member
  • No problem is so small it cannot be misunderstood.
    • TN

• CVO1: 2020 FLHTCUTG Tahitian Teal
    • CVO2: 2017 FLHTKSE Palladium Silver/Phantom Blue/Wicked Sapphire-traded
    • CVO3: 2012 FLHTCUSE7 Electric Orange/Black Diamond-traded
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2013, 10:21:43 AM »