Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2  All

Author Topic: quieter slip ons  (Read 7593 times)

wheelie

quieter slip ons
« on: September 08, 2013, 06:48:17 AM »

I searched and didnt really find the answer I was looking for , since I'm new to the 110 " engine...

recently bought a 10' FLHXSE with 2500 miles , it has a set of V&H dresser duals on it with 3.5" Rineharts ..... that the PO just put on before he traded it in... My issue with it is it is louder than I want... the Rineharts crackle way too much and actually vibrate the bike so much at 65-70 mph it actually makes my rear, legs go numb, and makes the wife not even want to ride , (and she loves to rifde more than I , if thats possible ) ... Ive had 13 HD's so far and had aftermarket exhaust ob most of them and do like a good sounding pipe , but this is not acceptable to me.. Is it because the slip ons are only 3.5" with the 110" engine?? and it cant breathe ?? (it only gets 36 mpg as well )  my 12' FLTRX gets 52 mpg !!!!..... i did an experiment yesterday , taking off the rineharts and installing the bone stock slip ons left over from my 12' glide and test rode it .. the engine obviously didn't like the backpressure and stumbled badly when opening the throttle , but as I got up to speed , all the vibrations and pounding that the Rineharts had was gone and the bike was comfortable for the first time..

so I'm thinking , I need new slip ons .... something big enough to allow the 110 to breathe.......hopefully to increase MPG while decreasing the cracking sound, and removing the pulsing vibrations that ruin the ride of this awesome bike....  a deeper mellower tone doesnt bother me , just dont want it so loud I cant hear the radio at highway speeds ...

suggestions from people more knowledgeable on the 110" and its breathing needs vs slip ons ... please , thank you

Ironhorse

• Vendor
  • 2.5K CVO Member
    • CA

• CVO1: 2006 SE Ultra