Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 [All]

Author Topic: Gas mileage after dyno tune  (Read 5789 times)

lilcoot

• Elite CVO Member
  • Scaramoosh! Scaramoosh! Can you do the Fandango?

• CVO1: '13 FLTCUSE8
Gas mileage after dyno tune
« on: January 26, 2013, 09:25:23 PM »

I have a '12 SESG with a TTS Mastertune that I had dynotuned a couple months ago.  Before the tune, I rode it several hundred miles on a canned map that hd_dude (Jim) provided, and it ran pretty well.  Since getting it dynotuned, gas mileage dropped to 31-32 mpg.  :'( :'(  I've checked the tire pressures, which are good. 

It never did get good gas mileage;  averaged about 38 mpg when new, with 44 mpg being the best I ever got.  Got about 37-38 with the canned map.  I tend to be a little heavy handed.  ::)

Has anyone else noticed a big change in mpgs after a dynotune?  I was hoping the gas mileage would get better, not worse.

I suspect the A:F ratio is a little lean, because I've noticed a little backfiring on decel, and the oil temps are running 10-20 degrees hotter than before (but not nearly as hot as it ran stock).

Thanks,

Dan

murphy

• Vendor
  • 2.5K CVO Member
Re: Gas mileage after dyno tune
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2013, 02:43:29 AM »

Mine got worse after tuning also.

Cvostu

• 5k CVO Member

• CVO1: 2023 Whiskey Neat road glide custom
    • CVO2: 2019 Mako Shark Fade road glide custom
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2013, 02:45:13 AM »

well you are adding more gas,,, 8)

timo482

• Elite CVO Member
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2013, 12:13:11 PM »

look at the map - is it running closed loop most of the time? or open loop rich most of the time?

makes a gigantic difference in milage

of course my personal experience is that the throttle position makes the most difference in milage. if i cool my jets i get wayyyyy better milage than if im even sort of hot dogging.

to

Dead_Reckoning

• Elite CVO Member
  • 03 SERK