Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2]  All

Author Topic: 2006 Dyna issues Already  (Read 2645 times)

fxdjerry

• Senior CVO Member
Re: 2006 Dyna issues Already
« Reply #15 on: August 22, 2005, 04:17:27 PM »

I am no longer upset about the fact that they didnt put the six speed in the
06 SE Ultra [smiley=laugh.gif]

Just keep fingers crossed they did not change bearings accross the board  smiley=oops.gif][smiley=confused.gif]
Mr. Philips letter just mentions the dyna's so maybe allright for the touring bikes.

My bike was due on 8/15 ...still waiting. [smiley=nixweiss.gif]

RedFXR2

« Reply #16 on: August 22, 2005, 05:09:17 PM »

Just checked over at the Vtwin board.  Extensive discussion at first about a possible hoax.  Then interesting input from a HD tech.  Some of it bears out the thought that many or most Dynas don't see 15K miles.

http://www.v-twinforum.com/forums/showpost.php?p=606613&postcount=40

I'm a tech, and we did indeed get this letter.

I would not say that it is because HD has already found problems. Instead, it is because the Dynas (only), got a VERY modified primary. HD wants to keep an eye on what is happening in there.

Some of the changes:
1) No longer have to tension the primary chain, in fact, the door is not present on the outer primary. There is a spring loaded "auto tensioner". Suspect the MoCo wants to keep an eye on this.
2) The Inner Primary/ Starter interface has changed drastically. Previously, to remove starter, you had to pull the outer primary and unbolt the starter jackshaft. That no longer has to be done. In fact, there no longer is a starter jackshaft. Since something must protrude through the inner primary to mate with the clutch hub, the "seal" that was around the starter mainshaft will have changed. The Moco will want to keep an eye on how that is sealing.